Kill Me If You Can


Good book, relaxing music, tasty food, and sweet silence as I do an uninterrupted reading – these are the things I look forward to on weekends.

kill me if you canI come across Kill Me If You Can through a friend. James Patterson and Marshall Karp co-author it and I wonder how they finish this 340-page book with 104 chapters, which are so fast-paced and short. While reading the book, I note some points I wish I could ask Mr. Patterson and Mr. Karp, such as, what is the necessity of too many sex scenes strewn all throughout; what is the motivation for the inclusion of an incestuous relationship when the story can stand on its own without it; why the sudden shift of characterization of The Ghost, allegedly the world’s greatest assassin, at the middle of the story; why police officers appear so naïve that they fail to catch Matthew Bannon, an art student and a main character; and why include advertising like the use of Maine toothpaste, among others. While I appreciate how vivid descriptions are made that you’d see clear pictures of objects, time sets, places, and feelings portrayed, I find it awkward to see that real justice is served only to some, such as Nathaniel Prince, Walter Zelvas and Vadim Chukov, and Bannon appears to be an exception. Is it because he is a main character, thus affording him of many conveniences?  A change of heart or desire to change should not only be based upon giving away money that he stole or killed for. Moreover, I love Paris where Bannon and his Art teacher and girlfriend have gone twice. Writing about how great the City of Lights is should have been better if there are details that strengthen both the usage and the claim.

Chapters stir anticipation and I’m just kind of frustrated in the end. But I’ll give one more try of Patterson. Anyway, it’s my first of his books – Kill Me If You Can, a not so unique title. Why? Long ago, I’ve come across Catch Me If You Can; maybe not Patterson’s and Karp’s fault, but the former being titled as world’s number one bestselling writer, can you blame me if I expect a standard of his writing?

Leave a comment